RVG Signs With Ivy League

Ivy League welcomes RVG to its roster, which sees the Melbourne four-piece join the likes of Rolling Blackouts C.F., Hatchie and The Teskey Brothers.

To celebrate the new deal, RVG releases “Nothing Really Changes,” lifted from their forthcoming third studio album, Brain Worms, due out June 2.

“It’s an honour to be working with RVG, a band we’ve been huge fans of at Ivy League Records for a long time,” Marihuzka Cornelius, A&R director at Ivy League Records, a division of Mushroom Group, tells The Music Network.

“As soon as we were sent Brain Worms, it was clear that this is both a very special and important album, and we wanted to be a part of this next chapter of the band’s story. We align ourselves with brilliant songwriters and voices and feel RVG sit beautifully alongside our roster of artists.”


Comprising lead singer and guitarist Romy Vager, guitarist Reuben Bloxham, drummer Marc Nolte and bassist Isabele Wallace, RVG (aka Romy Vager Group) busted out the blocks with their 2017 debut A Quality of Mercy, which was nominated for a batch of AIR and Music Victoria Awards.

Brain Worms is the followup to 2020’s Australian Music Prize-nominated Feral.

“It started off as a songwriting experiment to write something catchy with an obnoxious riff, a cross between Divinyls and Smoke on the Water,” says Vager of “Nothing Really Changes.”

It’s a song about “missing someone but protecting yourself from being hurt.”

RVG will give fans a taste of things to come when they kick off an east coast tour this Saturday (Feb. 25) in support of Julia Jacklin.

That treks starts at Sydney’s Enmore Theatre, visits The Tivoli in Brisbane (Feb. 26), and wraps with shows at The Forum in Melbourne (Feb. 28 and March 1), with international dates to following, including industry showcases at SXSW in Austin, Texas and a U.K. run in support of Billy Nomates.

Post Author: BackSpin Chief Editor

We are the editorial staff at BackSpin Records. We love music, technology, and other interesting things!